What I know now

“It’s PR that needs to be creative. It’s PR that needs to be new and different. It’s PR that needs to be original. The best way to establish a brand is to create a new category, and creating a new category requires creative thinking of the highest order.”

–  Al & Laura Ries

So we’re coming to the end of my graded work. On Wednesday 1st May this blog will be handed over to my university lecturer to given a mark. I’ve really enjoyed writing a blog on an academic level as opposed to for myself or for an audience interested in fashion. I’ve learnt a lot that I never imagined both about myself and involving PR and social networking that I’m going to share now

– Not only is Facebook Addiction Syndrome real, but there are over 350 million sufferers.

– 575 pictures are liked on Instagram every second

– 76% of employers search their prospective employees online and some demand facebook log in details

– That facebook and instagram didn’t really change their photo copyrighting policy that much

– I can research and locate appropriate sources to use in blog posts.

– I can still bring across my personality in a professional blog.

– Although I don’t share everything on twitter I’m far too interested in other people’s lives.

– Facebook’s advertising doesn’t make the clients that much money unless they’re a multi million business.

– My writing style has developed so much from writing as a hobby.

The obvious thing I’ve found is that in todays social networking driven world, PR and brands cant survive without using Twitter, Facebook and others. It is no longer acceptable to brands to dictate to customers, they need to feel valued and get their opinion across to the brand too. As Dave Folkens explains “Human connections made possible by listening and replying via social media bring the audience closer to a brand and softens the barrier that exists when people feel as if they’re talking to a company that views them strictly as a potential sale.”

I’d like to thank everyone that has read, commented on and shared these blog posts as well as everyone who has supported me in my first year at university. I look forward to exploring and learning more about Public Relations in the next two years

References

Contentfac.com (2013) The 50 Best PR Quotes of All Time. [online] Available at: http://www.contentfac.com/damn-i-wish-id-said-that-50-of-our-favorite-pr-quotes/ [Accessed: 25 Apr 2013].

Wallblog.co.uk (2012) Social media statistics 2012: from Facebook and Twitter to Instagram and Pinterest [infographic] | The Wall Blog. [online] Available at: http://wallblog.co.uk/2012/11/05/social-media-statistics-2012-from-facebook-and-twitter-to-instagram-and-pinterest-infographic/ [Accessed: 25 Apr 2013].

Du, W. (2007) Job candidates getting tripped up by Facebook. [online] Available at: http://www.nbcnews.com/id/20202935/ns/business-school_inc_/t/job-candidates-getting-tripped-facebook/#.UVBgv1u9XQQ [Accessed: 25 Apr 2013].

Holiday, R. (2012) Why I Lost My Faith In Facebook Advertising – Forbes. [online] Available at: http://www.forbes.com/sites/ryanholiday/2012/05/17/why-i-lost-my-faith-in-facebook-advertising/ [Accessed: 25 Apr 2013].

Instagram.com (2013) Terms of Use • Instagram. [online] Available at: http://instagram.com/legal/terms/ [Accessed: 25 Apr 2013].

Toprankblog.com (2011) Social Media PR – 3 Ways Public Relations Has Been Changed by Social Media. [online] Available at: http://www.toprankblog.com/2011/02/social-media-changing-pr/ [Accessed: 25 Apr 2013].

2 responses

  1. I wanted to thank you for writing detailed, informative posts that I have learnt a lot from. I think even though this is a graded work you should continue the blog, write more, and maybe I can write a few pieces for it too? 🙂

  2. I would never, ever hand my login details over! I would rather delete my facebook than let an employer see those, and I don’t even have anything especially incriminating to hide. It just seems like an invasion of privacy.

Leave a Reply

